top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Matsuda

Fun Sports/Fitness

South Korea has considerably cheaper prices compared to Hawaii. I spent on average $3-10 per meal! So if you're hoping to stay in shape, here are some fun sports and activities I did while studying at Yonsei.


Gym Membership:

First of all, if you're just trying to lift weights or use the equipment, you can sign up for a gym membership at the Yonsei Fitness Center (to the left of the "Sweat Enthusiasm" building). I didn't dorm, so I couldn't use the gym in the SK Global House (but I heard that gym is kind of puny).

Girls and guys register on different days. There is a cap on the number of men and women who can get a membership. I believe the women's cap was a lot lower but I managed to get one. Registration for women is usually the day after the men. I paid 112,000 won for the whole semester (this was a discounted rate). They've got a yoga room, lots of treadmills, three squat racks, three or four benches, etc.


Taekwondo:

If you didn't see my previous post, I joined taekwondo for international students. We met three times a week for around 1.5 to 2 hours. I believe Master Kim changed the meeting time to 5pm for the winter but class used to start at 6:10pm. We would start with stretching, sometimes do laps (not often), and practice kicking and punching (but mostly kicking). I got up to a green belt after four months! My favorite kick was the roundhouse.


Bowling:

There are bowling allies in the area. My friends and I went a few times. It's super fun! I think they charged us around 5000 won per person per game, but that price was discounted after a few games.


Batting Cages:


There are batting cages in the area as well! You insert a bill into the machine and it'll start pitching the balls. They have some bats on the side for you to use, and the place we went to was close to campus. Most of the batting cages here are cheap and convenient. There aren't any workers here so sometimes it'll just be you and your friends.


Archery:

I also mentioned this in a previous post! Sinchon Robinhood is awesome. You get a drink and can shoot for as long as you like (if it's not busy). They teach you how to shoot the first time you get there. Regular games are 20,000, but if you become a "member" (follow their Instagram & write down your name), you get a 10% discount. And if you hit 320, you get a 20% discount. 350 is a 30% discount I believe. So I only had to pay 16,000 won per game. The discount will also be given to your friends.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

First 2 Months in Korea Video Compilation

Hi everyone! Around October of 2022, I created a compilation video of all my memories in Korea and posted it to Facebook. Please watch it below! If you are unable to view the video, please click the l

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page